The Portlandia poetry chapbook competition has been discontinued.  There will be no contest in 2010.

From 1999 to 2008, The Portlandia Group published eight poetry chapbooks in its national competition. Winners were selected from hundreds of manuscripts by a panel of published poets.  Winners have gone on to win many other national prizes.

Winners of the Portlandia chapbook competition in the order that they won were: 

Judith Taylor of Los Angeles (1999),

Kurt S. Olsson of Maryland (2000),

Elisa A. Garza of Houston (2001),

John Suroweicki of Connecticut (2002),

David Biespiel of Oregon (2002),

Ron Drummond of New York City (2004),

John Pursley of Alabama (2006), and

Jen Karetnick of Florida (2008) .


Publisher and Founding Editor Karen Braucher thanks you for your past support of the press and these authors.


For more information on these eight chapbooks, please click below:

Portlandia Chapbooks/Ordering Info